header image
Cover of The Real Deal by Paritosh Uttam

Cover of Dreams in Prussian Blue by Paritosh Uttam

The list of Sahitya Akademi (India’s National Academy of Letters) Award winners for writing in English.

No.   Year Winner Work Category
1 1960 R. K. Narayan The Guide Novel
2 1963 Raja Rao The Serpent and the Rope Novel
3 1965 Verrier Elwin The Tribal World of Verrier Elwin Autobiography
4 1967 Bhabani Bhattacharya Shadow from Ladakh Novel
5 1969 Niharranjan Ray An Artist in Life Study
6 1971 Mulk Raj Anand Morning Face Novel
7 1975 Nirad C. Chaudhuri Scholar Extraordinary Biography
8 1976 S. Gopal Jawaharlal Nehru Biography
9 1977 Chaman Nahal Azadi Novel
10 1978 Anita Desai Fire on the Mountain Novel
11 1979 Rama Mehta Inside the Haveli Novel
12 1980 K.R. Srinivasa Iyengar On the Mother Biography
13 1981 Jayanta Mahapatra Relationship Poetry
14 1982 Arun Joshi The Last Labyrinth Novel
15 1983 Nissim Ezekiel Later-Day Psalms Poetry
16 1984 Keki N. Daruwalla The Keeper of the Dead Poetry
17 1985 Kamala Das Collected Poems Poetry
18 1986 Nayantara Sahgal Rich Like Us Novel
19 1987 Shiv K. Kumar Trapfalls in the Sky Poetry
20 1988 Vikram Seth The Golden Gate Novel in verse
21 1989 Amitav Ghosh The Shadow Lines Novel
22 1990 Shashi Deshpande That Long Silence Novel
23 1991 I. Allan Sealy The Trotter-Nama Novel
24 1992 Ruskin Bond Our Trees Still Grow in Dehra Short Stories
25 1993 G.N. Devy After Amnesia: Tradition and Change in Indian Literary Criticism Criticism
26 1994 Dom Moraes Serendip Poetry
27 1996 Sunetra Gupta Memories of Rain Criticism
28 1998 Mahesh Dattani Final Solutions and Other Plays Plays
29 1999 A. K. Ramanujan The Collected Poems of A. K. Ramanujan Poetry
30 2000 Kiran Nagarkar Cuckold Novel
31 2001 Rajmohan Gandhi Rajaji : A Life Biography
32 2002 Amit Chaudhuri A New World Novel
33 2003 Meenakshi Mukherjee The Perishable Empire: Essays On Indian Writing In English Essays
34 2004 Upamanyu Chatterjee The Mammaries of the Welfare State Novel
35 2006 Rupa Bajwa The Sari Shop Novel
36 2007 Malathi Rao Disorderly Women Novel
37 2009 Chaturvedi Badrinath Mahabharata: An Inquiry into the Human Condition Criticism
38 2010 Esther David The Book of Rachel Novel
39 2011 Ramachandra Guha India After Gandhi Historical Narrative
40 2012 Jeet Thayil These Errors are Correct Poetry
41 2013 Temsula Ao Laburnum For My Head Short Stories
42 2014 Adil Jussawalla Trying to Say Goodbye Poetry
43 2015 Cyrus Mistry Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer Novel
44 2016 Jerry Pinto Em and the Big Hoom Novel